catalogue  databases  weblibrary  site map
Search Coquitlam's Catalogue :
in
Using Your Library Online Services Programs & Services About CPL
You are here: HOME » Online Services » Databases  
 

Access online magazines, newspapers and other databases by going directly to the sign-on page

If you wish, scroll down this page for database descriptions.  Clicking on any database name below will also take you to the sign-on page. Once you have signed on you will have access to databases.  

To sign on from home enter a library card number (barcode on back of library card) and password (usually the last 4 digits of your telephone number). If you have any problems or need assistance with searching, please contact Ask-A-Librarian via email, or call Poirier at 604-937-4144 ext. 3, or City Centre at 604-927-3560.

                                 FEATURED DATABASES
Ancestry                     

Ancestry Library Edition.  Search for your ancestors from among thousands of records - all in one location.  For use in library only. 

Press Display

Digital versions of current newspapers from all over the world, in dozens of languages.   Includes today's Sun, Province, and Globe & Mail. 30 to 90-day rolling archives of all papers. Must be seen to be truly appreciated!

 

Academic Search Premier  

Academic articles from scholarly journals in nearly every discipline. Perfect for high school students, post-secondary students and researchers.

AllData Auto Repair          

Automotive repair information for technicians, from manufacturer's manuals, 1982 - present. Available in library only.

Ancient and Medieval History Online Homework help database for subjects such as ancient Egypt, Greece, Mesopotamia, Rome, Africa, the Americas and Asia. Includes articles, timelines, biographies and primary source documents.
Auto Repair Reference Centre Automotive repair information for the layperson, from Chilton's manuals, most models 1945 – present.
British Columbia Codes Online This site includes the online version of the B.C. Building Code and the B.C. Fire Code. Available in library only.
Business Source Premier Providing articles from more than 8,800 top business magazines, as well as company, industry and country profiles and market reports.
Canadian Encyclopedia Comprehensive Canadian encyclopedia which includes articles, quizzes, timelines, the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada and special features.
Canadian Newsstand (Canadian Newspapers) Full text articles from over 200 Canadian newspapers! Includes Vancouver Sun and Province, the Financial Post, the Globe and Mail plus community newspapers from across Canada.
Chilton Repair Manuals Online            

Automotive repair information for technicians, from Chilton. Covers most makes from 1947 - present.

Consumer Health Complete An easy to use research tool to covering health issues and questions using journals, magazines, encyclopedias, pamphlets, prescriptions drugs guides, alternate health sources and more!

Discovering Collection
Extensive database covering literature, history, biography, science and social studies. It includes articles from books, journals, encyclopedias and many other sources. Fantastic for school projects and homework assignments.

Encyclopedia of British Columbia
The EBC contains more than 4,000 articles on BC places and things and hundreds of historic and colour photographs, handy statistics, maps, tables, charts and diagrams.
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search a library of reference books online - culture, history, science, religion and more!

Kids Search Just for kids! Search through hundreds of articles from magazines, encyclopedias, picture files and books.
L'Encyclopédie Découverte

A French-language encyclopedia, including articles, images, maps and more.

Library To Go Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA, iPod, or MP3 player. Also download e-books in PDF format for your e-reader.
MasterFile Magazines Popular magazines covering nearly all subjects including current events, books and reading, consumer information, health and more.
NoveList Reader’s advisory guide to fiction. Find fiction by subject, or read reviews and summaries. Includes book discussion guides, author read-alikes, and more.
NoveList K-8 Reader’s advisory guide to fiction for children. Booklists, author read-alikes, discussion lists and more.
Opposing Viewpoints Viewpoint articles, topic overviews full-text newspaper and magazine articles on today's important social issues.
Oxford Reference Online Search over 100 specialized language and subject dictionaries, plus thesauri, quotations, maps, timelines and a comprehensive encyclopedia.  Includes the excellent Oxford “Companion” series.
Reference Canada Business Database Comprehensive database of 1.5 million Canadian businesses, great for market research and job hunting.  Search by name, industry, location, business size, phone, etc.  Also includes 12 million Canadian residences.
Science Online Covers biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth sciences and more.  Includes diagrams, experiments, biographies for school projects and homework grades 4 - 12. 
Tumblebook Library An online collection of read-along titles for children.
Vehicle Safety & Inspection Standards Online BC bulletins, fact sheets, laws and inspection manuals relating to vehicle safety.  Available in library only at Poirier.
World Book Online Excellent general encyclopedia for students. Use it to find relevant articles, maps, pictures, charts, and audio/video clips.



top of page image top of page