Search Coquitlam's Catalogue
in
 
A-Z Databases

Please Note:  Access to our Databases and our eBooks and our online Audiobooks will be unavailable from February 10 to February 15 due to our migration to a new computer system.  You may still access databases in the library.

Access online magazines, newspapers and other databases by going directly to the login page.

If you wish, scroll down this page for database descriptions.  Clicking on any database name below will also take you to the login page.

To log in from home, enter a library card number (barcode on back of library card, with no spaces) and password (usually the last 4 digits of your telephone number). If you need any assistance, please email Ask-A-Librarian, or call Poirier at 604-937-4144 or City Centre at 604-927-3560.  Need help logging in from home

AllData
Automotive repair, from manufacturer's manuals, 1982 - present.  Available in library only.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Includes drawings, step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins, and enhanced wiring diagrams available for viewing and printing.

British Columbia Codes Online
Includes the online version of the B.C. Building Code and the B.C. Fire Code. Available in library only.

Canadian Encyclopedia
Comprehensive Canadian encyclopedia which includes articles, quizzes, timelines, the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada and special features. 

Canadian Newsstand
Full text articles from over 200 Canadian newspapers! Includes Vancouver Sun and Province, the Financial Post, the Globe and Mail plus community newspapers from across Canada.
 
Career Cruising
For job searchers of all ages.  Use this online career guidance and planning system to find the right career, to explore education and training options and to search for jobs.

Consumer Reports Online
Find ratings and reviews for appliances, electronics, cars and much much more.  Need help?  See our brochure

Countries + Cultures
For students and those interested in world cultures, this is an online collection of three encyclopedias.  Search all three at the same time:  Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life and Countries and Their Cultures.

Encyclopædia Universalis
Considered to be one of the most scholarly of French-language encyclopedias, Encyclopædia Universalis is a French-language general encyclopedia for educated adult readers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online library of reference books - business, culture, history, science, religion and more!

L'Encyclopédie Découverte
A French-language encyclopedia, including articles, images, maps and more.

Library To Go
Read or listen to best-selling and classic books on your computer, iPod, MP3 player,  and eBook Reader.  Need help?

Mango Languages
Learn 35 foreign languages; Learn English on this premier database!  Access it anywhere with an Internet connection, including on your iPhone!  Need help?

MasterFile Magazines
Popular magazines covering nearly all subjects including current events, books and reading, consumer information, health and more.

Masterplots
The online equivalent of Coles Notes analyzes the most important written works in all genres—novels, short story, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world.  We also have this set in print in our Reference Collection at both branches.

Muzzy Languages
Created by the BBC, the acclaimed MUZZY language learning courses help your child to learn a second language.  Through games and actvities, Muzzy and his friends will guide your child on the journey to learning English, French, Spanish, German or Italian.

New York Times
Read the New York Times online! Go to the login page.
   Login ID:    nytimes@library.coquitlam.bc.ca
   Password: newyork 
Find out about New York Times apps for your smartphone or tablet here.

NoveList
Reader’s advisory guide to fiction. Find fiction by subject, or read reviews and summaries. Includes book discussion guides, author read-alikes, and more.

PressDisplay
Read the Vancouver Sun and Province as well as newspapers from around the world.  Newspapers look exactly like hard copies, complete with ads!  Must be seen to be truly appreciated!   Need help?

Reference Canada Business Database
Comprehensive database of 1.5 million Canadian businesses, great for market research and job hunting.  Search by name, industry, location, business size, phone, etc.  Also includes data for 12 million Canadian residences.

Religions of the World
Search two religion encyclopedias at the same time.  This collection includes:  Encyclopedia of Religion and World Religions Reference.

Science Online
Covers biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth sciences and more.  Includes diagrams, experiments, biographies for school projects and homework grades 4 - 12. 

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.  Includes ATV's, boat motors and much more.

Tumblebook Library
An online collection of read-along titles for children.

Universalis Junior
The children's edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopædia Universalis.

Vehicle Safety & Inspection Standards Online
BC bulletins, fact sheets, laws and inspection manuals relating to vehicle safety.  Available in library only at Poirier.

World Book Online
Excellent general encyclopedia for students. Use it to find relevant articles, maps, pictures, charts, and audio/video clips. 

Library Locations
Poirier Branch
575 Poirier Street
Coquitlam, BC
V3J 6A9
604-937-4141
    City Centre Branch
3001 Burlington Drive
Coquitlam, BC
V3B 6X1
604-927-3562


©Coquitlam Public Library